Frank Zappa - 1998 - Cheep thrills

CHEAP THRILLS serves as a 40-minute introduction to the varied world of Frank Zappa's vast catalog. Drawn from a dozen different ...    Full Descriptionreleases, most of the tracks are live. However, Zappa used the stage the way other artists use the studio (and the way he used the studio as well)--as a platform for experimentation. He recorded nearly all of his performances and indeed, many of them became cornerstones of assorted albums, when not constituting an album in its entirety. Long before many other acts were even aware of the process, Zappa was refining his approach to live multi-track recording.

"Hot Plate Heaven At the Green Hotel" (from the album BROADWAY THE HARD WAY) is one of several fine guitar workouts included here. "Zomby Woof" is a fine testament to both his skills as a bandleader and his ear for hiring impressive players. The earliest song included in this set is "Cheap Thrills" from the 1968 release CRUISING WITH RUBEN & THE JETS. The latest song here is culled from his final tour in the late eighties.

Compilation;Cheap!!!!;13 Songs

Personnel includes: Frank Zappa (vocals, guitar, Synclavier, synthesizers, drum programming); Bobby Martin (vocals, saxophone, keyboards); Ray Collins (vocals); Steve Vai (acoustic & electric guitars); Mike Keneally (guitar, synthesizer, vocals); Ray White, Ike Willis (guitar, vocals); Captain Beefheart (harmonica, vocals); Bunk Gardner (alto & tenor saxophones); Albert Wing (tenor saxophone); Kurt McGettrick (baritone & bass saxophones, contrabass clarinet); Walt Fowler (trumpet, flugelhorn, synthesizer); Bruce Fowler (trombone); Don Preston (piano); Tommy Mars (keyboards, vocals); George Duke, Alan Zavod (keyboards); Scott Thunes (bass, Mini-Moog synthesizer); Chad Wackerman (drums, electronic percussion); Terry Bozzio (drums).

Cheap Thrills

(Frank Zappa, April 1998)

Vinyl vs CD

   1. I Could Be A Star Now 0:35 (from Playground Psychotics)
   2. Catholic Girls 4:04 (from You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 6)
   3. Bobby Brown Goes Down 2:39 (from You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 3)
   4. You Are What You Is 4:31 (from Thing-Fish)
   5. We Are Not Alone 3:18 (from The Man From Utopia)
   6. Cheap Thrills 2:28 (from Cruising With Ruben & The Jets)
   7. The Mudshark Interview 2:39 (from Playground Psychotics)
   8. Hot Plate Heaven At The Green Hotel 6:40 (from Broadway The Hard Way)
   9. Zomby Woof 5:38 (from You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 1)
  10. The Torture Never Stops Original Version 9:13 (from You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 4)
  11. Joe's Garage 2:20 (from You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 3)
  12. My Guitar Wants To Kill Your Mama 3:19 (from You Can't Do That On Stage Anymore Vol. 4)
  13. Going For The Money 0:14 (from Playground Psychotics)

Original recordings produced by FZ
Compilation produced by David Greenberg
Mastered by Toby Mountain
News analysis by David Baker
Art & design by Cal Schenkel

Nenhum comentário: