Frank Zappa - 1971 - Vitamin Deficiency (Repost)


Vitamin Deficiency (2 LP)

    * The Ahoy, Rotterdam, 27-Nov-1971
    * Santa Monica Civic Center, 21-Aug-1970
    * Studio

    * Re-issue of Poot Face Booogie and Safe Muffinz ("with bonus tracks"?)
    * Re-issued on Rosa Vinyl Records (ZAP 1)
    * Also issued as Vitamin Deficiency (Phoenix Records 44786)

    * Rotterdam musicians: Frank Zappa, Mark Volman, Howard Kaylan, Don Preston, Aynsley Dunbar, Jim Pons, Ian Underwood
    * Santa Monica musicians: Frank Zappa, Mark Volman, Howard Kaylan, Jeff Simmons, Aynsley Dunbar, Ian Underwood and George Duke

Length: ~90 min
Sound quality: Audience B
Label: Singer's Original Double Disks SODD 003

    Disc 1: Poot Face Booogie
    Disc 2: Safe Muffinz

The Phoenix Records version has a deluxe colour cover. There are altogether 3 or 4 variant covers. A version in a plain white cover with plain white labels has also been reported, as well as white labels with printed side numbers and recording info written in pen. One informant described one cover version as a "black and white cover, with blank labels on the record. The cover consists of Frank's face on the front in sketch style and Frank holding a torn umbrella in front of a bulldozer, it looks a little rough in the printing side of things."

    * DO NOT see also: There is also a UK promo CD called No Commercial Potential, from Ryko, 1995, and it seems that there is a vinyl counterfeit of that CD, too.

Poot Face Booogie

Sound quality: Audience B (worse than Live in Amsterdam 1971)
Label: The Amazing Kornyphone Record Label TAKRL 1909

    1. Peaches en Regalia
    2. Tears Began to Fall
    3. She Painted up Her Face / Half a Dozen Provocative Squats / Shove it Right In [tracks 1-3 amount to 12:13]
    4. Who Are the Brain Police? [06:34]
    5. My Guitar Wants to Kill Your Mama [03:03 or 01:53] / Interview [01:10]
    6. Dog Breath, in the Year of the Plague [02:51]

    7. Once Upon a Time / Sofa
    8. Stick It Out
    9. Divan / Interview [00:25] [tracks 7-9 amount to 21:04 or 21:29]
    10. The Factory: Lightning-Rod Man [02:51] [Lightning-Rod Man version]

(Note: the printed track list doesn't exactly look like the above; the above is corrected and more detailed.) Tracks 5 and 6 are the 1969 single versions (a different edit of track 5 has been released on Stage #5), and tracks 9 & 5 include interview segments of some sort. Track 10 is a 1966 recording of Lowell George & the Factory, produced by and featuring Frank Zappa, officially released on the album Lightning-Rod Man in 1993.

In his book The Negative Dialectics of Poodle Play, Ben Watson calls Poot-Face Booogie "an illegal issue of such antiquity (1974) that its cover consisted of inserts in the shrink wrap. It was bought under the impression that it was official." There were issues with black & white paper inserts as well as others in colour covers with various colour inserts and stuff. One such back cover had a reprint of an interview where Zappa talked about how he was framed with making a pornographic audio tape - conspiracy to commit pornography - in the early 1960s. From The Real Frank Zappa Book, page 57:

    By then my Dad had been able to hire a lawyer, who said my only hope was to plead nolo contendere (no contest - or "I'm so broke I can't even buy justice in Cucamonga, so I'll just give a thousand bucks to this lawyer here and keep my fucking mouth shut, hoping you don't give me the death penalty").

From Biffy the Elephant Shrew:

    I recall an interview (reprinted on the back of the Poot Face Booogie bootleg) in which whoever transcribed the interview evidently didn't understand the Latin term and just left it out, so they had Zappa saying, "I pleaded, which means ..."

The/a back cover also had a picture of Mona Lisa with a Zappa moustache.

Safe Muffinz (LP)

    * 21-Aug-1970, Santa Monica Civic Center (not El Monte Legion Stadium, July 1971)

This recording has for a long time been thought to come from the El Monte Legion Stadium, July 1971, but it doesn't - Zappa does say "welcome to the El Monte Legion Stadium", but it's clearly the 1970 band on the record, and the recording has been identified as Santa Monica 21-Aug-1970.

    * Also re-issued with Poot Face Booogie as No Commercial Potential (2 LP)
    * Also re-issued with Poot Face Booogie as Vitamin Deficiency (2 LP)

    Length: ~45 min
    Sound quality: Audience B
    Label: The Amazing Kornyphone Record Label TAKRL 1929

Musicians: Frank Zappa, Mark Volman, Howard Kaylan, Jeff Simmons, Aynsley Dunbar, Ian Underwood and George Duke

    1. Call Any Vegetable
    2. The Air
    3. Dog Breath
    4. Mother People
    5. You Didn't Try to Call Me
    6. Would You Go All the Way?
    7. Rudy Wants to Buy Yez a Drink

    8. Road Ladies
    9. What Will This Morning Bring Me This Evening
    10. What Kind of Girl Do You Think We Are?
    11. Bwana Dik
    12. Latex Solar Beef
    13. Daddy, Daddy, Daddy [partial]

    14. Do You Like My New Car?
    15. Happy Together [Bonner/Gordon]
    16. What Will This Evening Bring Me This Morning?

(The last 3 tracks are on side 2; however, they're not included in all listings, but have been confirmed.)

The 50 original copies were issued with black & white inserts-in-the-shrink-wrap instead of covers - re-issues have colour cardboard covers (first orange, then green) and colour inserts (an orange cover copy with red & white insert has been reported). The front cover is based on the Cal Shenkel poster for the 1971 Pauley
Pavilion concert, and (misleadlingly) says "El Monte Legion Stadium 1971". Originally released in 1974.

This bootleg is archived in the United States Library of Congress! It's true: search for it in their on-line catalogue, they have it! :D (I don't know if there's such a thing as an item being removed from the Library of Congress, but as of April 2000, it was there. Control number 5672537.)
Disconnected Synapses (LP/CD)

Nenhum comentário: